Exactly one month from now…  Bo and I will be in Portland, Oregon attending the 4th Annual Tetris World Championships – where he will be competing.

People from all over the United States will come together in one location and take part in a tournament that is all about their beloved game. A long row of CRT televisions will be patiently awaiting the arrival of such spectacular players. Qualification rounds will take place as well as many others in order to award Tetris’ best players. Hours upon hours of Tetris all jammed packed into one weekend – bringing together so many people with one common interest, one major goal. Master a game; a game that takes both skill and luck. Swapping max-out stories and close calls… So much Tetris one may think they would become sick of this game. But, it never happens.

Even though I lack a significant interest in this game (weirdly I am devoting an entire semester to the topic) I hold this game very close to my heart. I did however think my brain was going to explode with all the ‘Tetrominos Talk’ so let’s just hope I have had enough recovery time before it happens all over again!!

I can’t wait to see what surprises Portland has in store for us.



Leave a Reply.