Let’s start at the very beginning. We need to jump back a couple of years to a little over a decade ago.

The year is 2001 and Bo Steil is just a college student playing NES Tetris in his spare time. Due to the significant amount of hours spent strategically placing these tetrominos, development of the “Tetris Effect” occurred.

“People who play Tetris for a prolonged amount of time may then find themselves thinking about ways different shapes in the real world can fit together, such as the boxes on a supermarket shelf or the buildings on a street.  In this sense, the Tetris effect is a form of habit. They might also dream about falling tetrominos when drifting off to sleep or see images of falling tetrominos at the edges of their visual fields or when they close their eyes.”

It is no surprise that Tetris was a battle field amongst brothers as they are both such competitive souls. Originally, it would come as no surprise his older brother prevailed but was eventually overtaken. Continually swapping scores and line achievements, Bo eventually made the best success of the game. He had reached Level 29, receiving 290 lines. A disposable camera was the only form of proof to commemorate this milestone.

Upon searching the internet, no evidence was uncovered of anyone having hit level 29. He ‘retired’ from the game as the best (in his mind) until… *to be continued*

Nick Colsrud
9/6/2013 02:23:34 am

<Nick> Hailey, I think Tetris was one of the most fun games I have ever played. I don’t know why, but it almost seems addicting. I use to play the game a lot when I was younger. It has been many years, but I was actually thinking about buying a gaming system so I could start playing again.
I think you blog page is really cool. Once I arrived at the page I knew exactly what the shapes were at the top of the page. Do you still play Tetris?

Reply
Hailey Buntrock
9/6/2013 08:16:16 am

I never have been into video games. I have tried playing Tetris a couple of times but I am terrible at it. It probably doesn't help that I have Bo looking over my shoulder critiquing my every move.

Reply



Leave a Reply.