After months of searching, a new obsessed has weaseled its way in our home. Of course, it’s an obsession belonging to the man of the house. Last weekend, a new woman entered into Bo’s life and I must say that I am not the slightest bit jealous. However, the neglected Nintendo down stairs may be crying itself to sleep.

An old arcade version of Miss Pac Man is glowing brightly in our living room, filling the whole house with this repetitive music whenever Bo presses start.

When the news was presented to me that a Miss Pac Man console was purchased via Ebay, I was rather thrilled. I remember enjoying my time at arcades munching down the little pills and ghosts, Pinky was always my favorite. But I must confess, having the monstrous machine as a decoration in my living room, I have lost significant pleasure for that plump little yellow ball.

In the past week or so, I cannot recall a single instance in which Bo has picked up a controller to play his beloved game of Tetris. Is this due to the fact that he has moved onto a different retro game that he hopes to master or the love between him and Miss Pac Man is just new, fresh and exciting?

Never the less, it’s just another activity that is taking attention away from me and that is not something I like. Video games will always be something that I despise no matter how cool they truly are.



Leave a Reply.