Today is the day; the 4th Annual Tetris World Championships.

Arriving at the convention center is no different than yesterday. Bo doesn’t appear to be nervous. Continually saying that he knows he will lose. I reassure him that he will do great!

Bo’s section of the bracket is the first to be called. He plugs in his Nintendo controller into the console and takes his seat. A few minutes go by with no sign of his opponent. Adam and Vince (those in charge of the tournament) give the opponent a ten minute warning.

The minutes tick by and still no sign of the individual he is supposed to go head to head against.

After the ten minutes have lapse; Adam declares Bo Steil winner by default which advances him to Round 2.

I greet him with excitement. He doesn’t seem too thrilled about his new placement in the bracket. I press him for answers not completely understanding his reasoning behind such disappointment.

“I didn’t want to have to play against Mullen cold. Wish I could have got the first game nerves out.”

Ben Mullen is victorious against his opponent moving him to the position in which he and Bo were dreading. They were now going to have to play one another. It’s a repeat of last year.

When round one is complete its clear that this is going to be a great day with incredible competition.

Bo and Ben are called to their positions. They joke and talk prior to the start of their games. Adam jokes over the microphone about the ‘friendly Minnesota rivalry.’

As Chris Higgins motions for game one to start, there is a shift in both men’s facial expressions. They both want to receive the bittersweet victory of winning and advancing to round three.

My hands are sweaty and my stomach is in knots. With the beginning of each new piece falling towards the stack below, I cringe.

Bo is declared the winner of game one.

Nerves are piercing throughout me.

Ben wins game two.

I place my hands on my legs in an effort to steady them.

3… 2… 1… GO!

Game number 3 begins.



Leave a Reply.