**Side note: I forgot to mention… my previous post as well as this one is about my trip to Portland, Oregon last year.

Saturday morning. I awake to Bo practicing on the hotel television. Today is the qualification rounds of the tournament. I cannot tell if there are butterflies fluttering in his stomach or if he is truly cool, calm, and collected like he is showing externally. I would be beyond freaking out if I were in his shoes. I am nervous enough for him; enough for the both of us I would say.

We enter the Oregon Convention Center. So many arcade games, booths, people. We find the location where the qualification rounds will be taking place. Money transfers hands as the entrance fee is paid. We begin the walk to the end of the line for the first time of the day.

We continue through the same motions for hours. Wait in line… play one game… back in line. Attempting to get a qualifying score that will place him high enough on the list. The final game is played. We are finally able to leave.

My feet ache from standing on the cold concrete floor.

Tomorrow is the day Bo has been anxiously waiting for. He is convinced he will lose in the first round. I try to keep his thoughts positive.

No one knows what tomorrow has in store.
Nick Colsrud
9/26/2013 02:31:53 am

I think it is great that you are supporting him in the tournament. It would be difficult to compete if you already think you are going to lose in the first round. I actually didn't know they had tournaments for Tetris. I think it is kind of cool. I use to play this game a lot when I was younger. I thought it was fun and also challenging. I will admit that standing on a concrete floor all day does take it toll on the feet. I work on concrete floors for 10 hours a day. Some days when I have to stand there for hours it really makes my feet and knees hurt. Your blog has me interested in how the tournament will tourn out. Keep us posted.

Reply



Leave a Reply.