It is probably safe to say that prior to my new life involving Tetris, I had never picked up a NES controller. This probably has to do the lack of Nintendo products in my household; we had Sega and PlayStation. Also, I had little desire to play video games but enjoyed watching my brother geek his games for hours.

When Tetris was introduced in my life, a mere year and a half ago, I loathed every inch of it. There was nothing appealing about the game except for when Bo bent over to switch off the console. I was continually being asked if I wanted to play a game but would never sit down to do so.

One afternoon I decided I should probably try it. It doesn’t look THAT hard. I could probably be as good as Bo.

Boy was I wrong…

Level 18… The pieces appear to be falling at such a consistent yet easy pace when I watch it being played but when I pushed start I was instantly killed. Level 0 was more my speed.

I found myself frustrated and frazzled by each new piece being presented at the top of the screen.

“Look at the next box, it helps you decide where to put each piece.”

What! I need to look at something else besides the falling pieces. Oh heck no.

Both A and B buttons spin the pieces… I think I’ll stick to one.

My average brain could not and still cannot wrap around the concepts of this game.

I think I will stick to watching from the side lines being a personal cheerleader.

I am continually asked by people if I play the game. My answer is always the same, “No, I am terrible at it and think it is boring.” I love the game because of the joy it brings to Bo but if the game were to disappear altogether you wouldn’t see me shed a tear.

Here is a picture of my high score! Watch out everyone, I am about to max out soon…

In my dreams.



Leave a Reply.